Because of the political instability, the former Belgian Congo made the transition to the Congo Democratic Republic using two separate bank banknote issuers:

• The Monetary Council of the Democratic Republic of Congo 3rd October 1960

• The National Bank of the Congo 23rd February 1961

Banknotes from this early transition period prior to changing the name of the State to Zaire in 1967 have become rare.

Conseil Monetaire de la Republique du Congo P1 100 Francs, P2 1000 Francs, P3 5000 Francs

The role of the Conseil Monetaire was to liquidate the existing Banque Centrale du Congo Belge et Rwanda-Burundi and to prepare the legal entry of the Banque Nationale du Congo.

The period included the political instability resulting from the independence elections in June 1960 and the subsequent secession of Katanga headed by Tshombe which finally ended in January 1963.

Banque Nationale du Katanga 10-20-50-100-500-1000 Francs

The first issues of the National Bank in 1961 contained the heads of the new political leaders; and it was not until 1967 that the first note appeared bearing the head of the armed forces Col. Joseph Mobutu.*

Banque Nationale du Congo P8 1000 Francs, P10 20 Makuta, P13 5 Zaires

In November 1965 Mobutu* intervened, dismissing Kasavubu and proclaiming himself president; in late 1966 he abolished the office of prime minister, establishing a presidential form of government, and in 1971 the country was renamed Zaire.

The nation then chose to reclaim the name Democratic Republic of the Congo.

*Mobutu continued in power until 1997, when conflict forced him to flee the country.